Thoughts that keep me awake

What if one day
You wake up at night and realize
That I’m covered in flaws
And you see me and no longer get the butterflies
You always call me perfect
And beautiful
But what if it becomes silent chatter
You start loving me less
The talks slow down and become small
And eventually
Slowly
I’d understand
This is not what you wanted
Because I’m clingy, needy, and emotional
I’m fragile
You have to worry about me all the time
And ask how I’m feeling
My fear is that I’m not what you had in mind
Your lips will press someone else’s
Your arms will become a different home
Your hair will be combed by different hands
And your heart will be placed with someone else’s
These are the thoughts that keep me awake all night
Leave a Reply

